Eytan Mirsky – If Not Now … Later (Q&A)

 

 

 

 

 

PowerPopNews writes: With Eytan Mirsky’s Funny Money having made the top 4 on this website’s best powerpop albums of 2016 list, the anticipation has been building for his new one. Here’s the good news. If Not Now….Later is every bit as catchy, clever and engaging as its predecessor.

 

 

Sweet Sweet Music talked to Eytan about the new record, playing in front of a crowd, and how to sell a million copies.

 

For every song you record, how many end up in the bin?

 

I really haven’t recorded many songs that haven’t been released one way or another. There are songs that I have written and sung an acoustic version of on Youtube that I never recorded a full band version of. But once I record a full band version I almost always release it — if not on my own albums then on a compilation.

 

With every song you write, are you still learning to become an even better songwriter?

 

Yes, and no. In a way, I think I have developed more skill at songwriting. But at the same time, every song is its own challenge, and you’re only as good as your last song! The fact that the last song you wrote was great is no guarantee that the next one will also be one. You still have to do the work.

 

As an artist, you chose to show your emotions to the world. Is it always comfortable to do so?

 

 

I don’t consider myself a “confessional” writer, so I don’t really have this problem. My songs aren’t strictly autobiographical and they are not deeply emotional in the way you describe. Sometimes I envy people who do write that way, though, but I approach it more in the way of making an idea come to life.

 

eytan

 

 

Any ideas about how to turn this one into a million seller?

 

Yes: Step 1: Win the lottery.

 

Step 2: Buy a million copies.

 

 

When was the last time you thought ‘I just wrote a hit!’?

 

In my dreams the other night.

 

Recording music. What’s all the fun about?

 

The fun for me in recording is having an idea and then trying to make it a reality. Sometimes things don’t work out the way you envisioned them; good surprises can happen that can make things better than you imagined. I also have fun singing my songs. It’s always interesting to develop the vocal interpretation of a song.

 

Playing music in front of a crowd. What’s all the fun about?

 

 

The fun part of performing live for me is when the crowd is really into the songs. It’s fun when you can tell people are really listening. For instance, I have a song called “My Dog Likes Your Dog,” and there’s a surprise in the lyrics about halfway through. When people start laughing at that point of the song, I can tell that they were really paying attention. I also enjoy between-song banter and being as funny and as entertaining as possible. I don’t like acts that just play one song after the other without any interaction with the audience.

 

You can’t control the way people ‘hear’ your music. But if you could make them aware of certain aspects, you think, set your songs apart. What would they be?

 

 

I would definitely say that people have tended to enjoy my lyrics, and I do try to make them as good as I can. Now, it’s true that a lot of people don’t really listen to lyrics, but I think good lyrics make you focus more.

Leave a comment